Skip to main content

Engineering Society Recognizes Wentworth for Commitment to Diversity and Inclusion

a bronze emblem

Wentworth Institute of Technology has been recognized as a top school for diversity and inclusion by the American Society for Engineering Education’s Diversity Recognition Program.  

The program was borne out of ASEE’s desire to publicly identify engineering and engineering technology colleges that make significant, measurable progress in increasing diversity, inclusion and degree attainment outcomes of their programs. 

The university was recognized at the Bronze Level, which currently is the highest level of recognition within the program. 

“We can only become an exemplar of inclusive excellence by continuously doing the work to reach our goal,” said Nicole Price, vice president for the Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. “This award recognizes Wentworth’s active and hands-on commitment to inclusive excellence. I am truly excited for the work we will do.” 

Each application reviewed by three reviewers using a rubric drawn from ASEE Diversity Recognition Program guidelines. An interactive panel discussion was also used to ensure that the reviewers were consistent in their recommendation on the acceptability of the application. 

ASEE notes that Wentworth is committed to the following outcomes: 

  • Establishing baseline support for groups underrepresented in engineering  

  • Quantifiably analyzing and assessing unit composition, policies, culture and climate related to all groups underrepresented in engineering 

  • Implementing programs and initiatives that strengthen the K-12 or community college pipeline thereby reducing significant barriers related to long-term growth 

  • Developing an action plan focused on continuous improvement 

Those at Wentworth involved in the ASEE submission process and related work include Price; Jose Sanchez, dean of the School of Engineering; Ian Lapp, provost; Professor David Simpson, provost initiatives coordinator for inclusive excellence; Professors Aaron Carpenter, Wayne Bynoe and Abhishek Kumar; Interim Associate Deans Michael Jackson and Ali Khabari, School of Engineering; Alexandra Ghiz, assistant to the dean, School of Engineering; Erik Miller, director of the Center for Community and Learning Partnerships; Alex Cabal, director of the Center for Diversity and Social Justice Programs; and Michelle Davis, chief marketing officer.