With Microsoft Lync 2010 communications software, you use privacy relationships to control how much of your presence information others see. Contacts are assigned one of five privacy relationships, and each relationship provides access to a different set of information. For example, Colleagues, which is the relationship all new contacts are given when you add them, can see more of your information than External Contacts but less than Friends and Family. This topic describes what information each privacy relationship provides access to, how to change the privacy relationship that you have with a contact, and how to hide certain details from everyone.
Your presence information includes your availability status (such as available or away), presence indicator (such as green, yellow, or red), schedule, location, and personal and out-of-office notes. The following table shows which presence information attributes are available for a given privacy relationship. Contacts with whom you have a Workgroup relationship are likely to be important. Only these contacts can interrupt you when you have set your status to Do Not Disturb.
Note Non-buddies when in Enhanced Privacy Mode, and blocked contacts will see only your display name and email address.
|Presence Information||External Contacts||Colleagues||Workgroup||Friends and Family|
|Work Phone *||•||•||•|
|Mobile Phone *||•||•|
|Home Phone *||•|
|SharePoint Site *||•||•||•||•|
|Meeting Location #||•|
|Meeting Subject #||•|
|Notes (Out-of-Office Note)||•||•||•|
|Personal Photo Web Address||•||•||•||•|
To change the privacy relationship you have with a contact, do the following:
By default, contacts are assigned the Colleagues privacy relationship when you add them to your Contacts list, which means they have access to your Work Phone number only. If you publish other phone numbers (by clicking the Options button from the Lync main window, clicking Phones, and then typing the numbers), especially a home or mobile phone number, you should ensure that privacy relationships are set to:
By default, for everyone except Blocked Contacts and External Contacts, updates to your personal note will appear in their Activity Feed list. You can change this, by doing the following:
By default, Lync updates your location when you log on from different places. You can hide this information from others, by doing the following:
By default, everyone except Blocked Contacts can see your presence status. For additional privacy, you can do the following:
Your organization may have enabled Privacy Mode in Lync. If this is the case, you can choose whether to limit visibility of your presence information to only those people you’ve added to your Contacts list:
Important If you are running Lync in Privacy Mode, older versions of Microsoft Communicator will be blocked.
To block a contact from reaching you in Lync: